Genevieve, Funke Akindele, Mercy Johnson Nominated For AfricaMagic Viewers Choice Awards


The much-awaited first ever AfricaMagic Viewers Choice Awards (AMCA) nominees’ revelation was aired last night to millions of viewers in 47 African countries. The announcement was shown on a special edition of MNET’s lifestyle programme, 53 Extra.
Eku Edewor and Dolapo Oni were joined by Uti Nwachukwu and Helen (both of Jara TV) to present the show last night.
Genevieve Nnaji led others in her Best Actress in a Drama category that include Bubu Mazibuko, Nolwazi Shange, Funke
Akindele and Jackie Appiah.

Mercy Johnson and Funke Akindele also led the pack in the Best Actress in a Comedy category that also includes Lilian Esoro.

In the Best Actor in a Drama category, O.C Ukeje, Fabian Adeoye Lojede, Kenneth Uphopho, Edward Kagutuzi and Jafta Mamabolo are at the mercy of the viewers to determine who among them wins the category.

Hafiz Oyetoro, Kunle Bamtefa, Bovi Ugboma, Francis Odega and Ikhide Isaac will slug it out with each other in the Best Actor in a Comedy category.

In the Best Movie Overall category, Skeem (Tim Greene), Man on Ground (Akin Omotoso, Fabian Adeoye Lojede, Hakeem Kae-Kazim and Rosie Motene), Jozi King (Jamie Ramsay), Otelo Burning (Sara Blecher) and The Mirror Boy (Obi Emelonye) all made it to the awards’ category.

In all, South African movie, Otelo Burning, had the highest nominations of 14 closely followed by Nigeria’s ‘The Mirror Boy’ with 11 nominations. ‘Man on Ground’ raked nine (9) nominations, ‘Perfect Picture’ got eight (8), ‘Two Brides and a Baby picked’ seven (7), ‘Maami’ five (5) and ‘Skeem’ also settled for five (5) nominations.

110 nominees were chosen from 43
different productions from countries like Cameroon, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria,
South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

There are 28 awards for grabs in 26 categories. Viewers will determine, by votes, who wins in six categories of the awards while 18 more technically
focused categories will be determined by an expert industry based judging
panel, which will be announced at a later

These judges will select the rising star TrailBlazer of the Year, and the Industry Merit recipient, a veteran industry professional whose long term contribution will be honoured.

The awards holds in March. Voting for the six awards categories began last night and ends on March 3 midnight (CAT). Viewers can vote via WEB, WAP or SMS.

AfricaMagic Viewers’ Choice Awards will be screened live on DStv and GOtv platforms on Saturday, March 9, 2013.



Son Exhumes Mother's Corpse, Removes Head And Private Part
Donjazzy Set To Launch Mavin Clothing

What Do You Think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.