Sending an email is not an arduous task. However, there are other circumstances where you prematurely send an email or may have sent the mail to the wrong person. In other cases, you may forget to attach a very important file before sending the email. If this happens, what will you do?
Gmail now offers features that can easily help users recall emails within recommended seconds. Jovago.com, Africa’s No 1 Hotel Booking Portal, outlines tips on how you can get this done with ease. Now you don’t need to worry about your boss, who is out of Lagos reading a disturbing email.
Activate undo button
The undo button may automatically appear at the top of your compose page. However, if it doesn’t, then click on settings on the left-hand-side of your Gmail account. On the drop-down menu, click on the menu again. On the new page that is opened, look for ‘undo’ send and enable it.
Set a specific seconds
After enabling the undo button, ensure that you set the require seconds you want the email to wait before it is sent. The seconds are 5, 10, 20 and 30. If it elapses any of these seconds, the user can’t recall the already sent message.
Undo/recall the email
You can test run these steps by trying to send a mail to a friend. After sending the email, the ‘undo button’ will immediately appear. Click this button to prevent the message from being sent. As earlier mention, after the fixed time, the mail can’t be recalled. Also, if the receiver has opened the mail, it cannot be retrieved.