After months of development WhatsApp have started rolling out the Delete for Everyone feature, which allows you to recall messages after you’ve sent them.
This applies to text messages, gifs, video, pictures… pretty much anything you can send on WhatsApp, however it must be done within seven minutes of sending the message.
The feature is easy to use. Simply highlight the message you wish you didn’t send, select Delete from the menu and then hit Delete for Eveyone. It’s only available to certain users at the moment and only on the latest version of WhatsApp.
However, the people you are messaging can still see the message before you delete it and even if you manage to recall a message before the other person returns to their phone, they will still be able to see ‘This message was deleted’.
WhatsApp will also let you know if the recall wasn’t successful, just so you know if you need to send a grovelling apology message or not.