If you do not have a Netflix account, it’s high time you got yourself one because you will no longer be able to use other people’s account.
The Streaming giant has begun testing an account security feature that help it crack down on password sharing thereby cutting off ‘non-registered’ users.
Netflix now roll out alerts asking users to verify they are authorized to watch on the account to be able to keep watching.
“This test is designed to help ensure that people using Netflix accounts are authorized to do so,” a Netflix spokesperson said in a statement.
The common practice of sharing passwords violates the company’s terms and condition which prohibits shared usage of accounts with individuals beyond a subscriber’s household. The terms of service say accounts “may not be shared with individuals beyond your household.”
When a user selects their profile on a shared Netflix account, a pop-up will ask them to verify the account by confirming with a text or email sent to the account holder. Users can also choose to verify later, in which case, the pop-up will show up again at an undetermined later time. If they can’t confirm they’re an authorized user, viewers will be prompted to set up a new account.
Not too worry, the new feature is just a test, and it’s rolling out to a limited number of users who watch on the Netflix TV app.